Thanks in large part to its range of creative filters, Instagram has quickly risen to become one of the most popular image sharing social networks.
There are some concerns over usage rights, privacy and security, for example. Permanently deleting or temporarily deactivating an Instagram account is very easy to do, but it can also present some challenges.
Want to take a break from social media, but not done with Instagram for good? You can temporarily disable your account and reactivate it when you’re ready to join the Instagram community once again.
To temporarily deactivate Instagram:
1. Log in to your Instagram account
Log into instagram.com from a mobile browser or computer – you can’t temporarily disable your account from the Instagram app.
2. Go to Instagram’s ‘Delete Your Account’ page
Once you’ve logged in, go to the Delete Your Account page and select your reason for deleting your account from the ‘Why are you deleting your account?’ drop-down menu.
3. Enter your password and permanently delete Instagram
Once you’ve selected an option, you’ll be prompted to re-enter your password to confirm that you want to delete your Instagram account permanently.
After you’ve selected a reason and entered your password, the option to permanently delete your account will appear.
Click ‘Permanently delete my account’ and your account – along with all of your content and followers – will be disabled for good moving forward.
Keep in mind: Once you’ve deleted your account, you can’t sign up with that same username if you decide to create another Instagram account later on. Instagram also can’t reactivate deleted accounts.
That being said, in the case that you’re not ready to permanently part with your Instagram account, I’m here to cover how to deactivate your Instagram account temporarily.
How to delete an Instagram account permanently
To permanently delete Instagram, follow these steps:
- Visit the Instagram website and log into your account − you can’t delete an Instagram account from within the app
- Follow this link, which takes you to the ‘Delete Your Account’ page
- Open the drop-down menu next to ‘Why are you deleting your account?’ and choose the option most relevant to you
- Re-enter your Instagram password when prompted
- Select ‘Permanently delete my account’